share
Print this page

Blog: Praying Together for Economic Justice

Sep 12, 2011 | By Mary Ellen Lacy, D.C.

Raise your voice in prayer!

We cannot let the Super Committee balance the budget on the backs of our poor brothers and sisters.

Wednesday, September 14

12 noon-12:20 pm eastern

[11 am central; 10 am mountain; 9 am pacific]

RSVP early

Advance registration required by Tuesday, September 13 - noon eastern

The work of the Super Committee is beginning.  The first hearing will be held on Tuesday, September 13.  In just three months, critical decisions about how our nation spends its abundant financial resources will be made -- including decisions about the future of Medicaid, Medicare, and the Affordable Care Act. 

Clearly, it is time for prayer and moral discernment! Join people of faith all over our country as five religious leaders offer reflections and prayers, including our own Sister Simone Campbell, SSS. She will offer the reflection/prayer for our government officials, specifically, the Super Committee, the members of Congress and all elected and appointed leadership, calling them to moral discernment around the common good.

This Prayer Vigil will reflect the spirit of noonday Interfaith Prayer Vigils that will be held in front of the United Methodist Building in Washington, DC, across the street from the U.S. Capitol and the Supreme Court.

There are a limited number of toll-free lines available for those who would not otherwise be able to participate on the call.

RSVP now and then spread the word.

http://salsa.democracyinaction.org/o/1973/signup_page/rsvp091411